Debt

Put it on my Tab

 

And I’ll take another stab at this

Running up debt like I intend to drown in it

With nothing left but days for living

 

Skating by is a way of giving

 Endless promises, always hollow

To those that never seem to follow

 

Soon surely they will learn my way

The taxman will demand his half

To that face I’ll simply laugh

 

To a welcome home of liquid vices

Of toxins for my growing defiance

And “take the pain away” reliance

 

Plus I’d rather pay a bar man and

Shame my name before they can

At rock bottom, that’s the plan

 

I see a stool and take a seat

Followed by a whiskey neat

Tell the keep to keep them coming

 

Running up my tab

Can’t afford it, can’t afford a cab

The bum I am, I smoke a square

 

Drunk and sipping stinky air

So dumb I am, no sense no care

Reminders everywhere.

Leave a Reply

